Competition for composition for a work for chamber orchestra



The chamber orchestra „Mitteldeutsche Kammerphilharmonie Schönebeck“ gGmbH (chief conductor Jan Michael Horstmann) tenders for it’s concert season 2021/22 a

Competition for composition 

for a work for chamber orchestra.

Mitteldeutsche Kammerphilharmonie is a chamber orchestra including 23 musicians, located in the idyllic spa Bad Salzelmen, part of the town Schönebeck at river Elbe in Germany.

The season 2021/22 will under the title „From Tolberg’s times“ as a main theme the biography of  Dr. Johann Wilhelm Tolberg (1762 - 1831), who worked as medical consultant at the Salina and the gradation house of Schönebeck and found here around 1802 the healing power of  salt water. Therefore Bad Salzelmen became the first salt spa in Germany and apart of that one of the leading locations of salt extraction until the beginning of 20th century.

Our program will be consisting of works from Tolberg’s lifetime and pieces that are put into a dialogue with them. In every of our eight „Festive Chamber-Philharmonic Concerts“ there will be a first performance of a new piece written for our orchestra. Seven assignments were given, the last work will be the winning piece from this competition premiered in May 2022.

The work should be of a duration of 10 to 15 minutes dealing with history of our town, our county „Salzlandkreis“ , with Dr.Tolberg, salt or any other subject related to the home of our orchestra.


The orchestral cast should not exceed the size of our orchestra:

1(also Picc).2 (2nd also EH).1.1. – – Timp/Perc.(1 player) – Strings (5-3-2-2-1)

There is no age limit.

The deadline for the finished score is October 31st 2021.

The prize money including travel fee to first performance will be € 3500,-.

Orchestral scores of the winning piece should be provided to the orchestra from April 1st 2022 (if possible without additional costs). The fee for any collecting society will be payed by Mitteldeutsche Kammerphilharmonie.

Date of first performance is may 20th 2022 (in Wernigerode) and May 22nd 2022 (in Schönebeck) within a concert titled „1876 - das Lindenbad“ including the violin concerto by Erich Wolfgang Korngold (Soloist Zsolt-Tihamér Visontay, concert master of The Philharmonia London) and the first symphony by Johannes Brahms (a collaboration concert with Philharmonic Chamer Orchestra of Wernigerode).

The Jury:

Prof. Violeta Dinescu (Composer, Professor at Carl von Ossietzky-Universität Oldenburg)
Uta- Maria Lempert (ensemble courage Dresden)
GMD Anna Skryleva (Magdeburgische Philharmonie)
Gabriel Teschner (Musikverlag Hans Sikorski)
Jan Michael Horstmann (Mitteldeutsche Kammerphilharmonie Schönebeck)

For additional questions please contact chief conductor Jan Michael Horstmann.


The score should be sent as PDF (hand writing scan or note writing program) to

Important: Please combine work title and your name only in the letter, on the score itself should ONLY be the title, not composer’s name.